More than 2,300 people voted in the Gaithersburg municipal election Tuesday, according to final results released Friday morning.

On Tuesday, incumbent City Council members Neil Harris, Ryan Spiegel and Robert Wu were each reelected to another four-year-term. Their only opposition was from three write-in candidates running for the three council seats.

Wu’s final vote total was 2,021, while Harris received 1,672 votes and Spiegel received 1,658, according to a press release.

Write-in candidate Juan Aguirre got 476 votes while Carol Johnson and Nicole Ukiteyedi, the other two write-in candidates, received 435 votes and 117 votes respectively.

On Election Night, the city only released an aggregate total of 1,104 write-in votes. However, only candidates who were certified are eligible to have their votes counted.

The 2,388 votes was a turnout of 6.54% — lower than 2017’s turnout of 9.29%.


Lauren Klingler, the city’s elections clerk, said 123 absentee ballots were requested.

Results were certified on Friday.

According to the press release, 24 people registered to vote at the polls on Election Day — the first time the city has allowed same-day voter registration.


Gaithersburg has a six-member mayor and City Council that serves part-time. The mayor and council members serve staggered four-year terms.

The next city election will take place Nov. 2, 2021, according to the press release.

Dan Schere can be reached at