Credit: File photo

A committee opposed to two Montgomery County ballot questions that residents will vote on Nov. 3 has released a list of people who agree with their cause.

The committee aims to convince voters to reject county ballot Question B, proposed by Robin Ficker, which would prohibit the council from increasing property tax revenue above a percentage equal to the Consumer Price Index in the Washington region.

The committee is also opposed to Question D, proposed by a group of local residents called Nine Districts for MoCo, which would change the council structure so that the nine seats are elected by district. This would differ from the current structure, in which five members are elected by district, and the other four are at-large.

The committee, called “Vote No on B & D” is chaired by former County Executive Ike Leggett, former U.S. Rep. Connie Morella, Potomac businessman and former county executive candidate David Blair, and AQUAS CEO Carmen Ortiz Larsen.

The list, released on Saturday, includes a number of former elected officials at the county, state and federal levels

Among the names who support the cause of “Vote No on B & D” are:


• Former Montgomery County Executive Sidney Kramer
• Former County Council Members Nancy Floreen, George Leventhal, Mike Subin, Gail Ewing, Bruce Adams, David L. Scull and Scott Fosler
• Former Maryland Attorney General Doug Gansler
• Former U.S. Rep. Mike Barnes
• Former Montgomery County First Lady Catherine Leggett

Below are the other county residents and groups who are on the list released on Saturday:
Sheldon Fishman
Steve Hollman
Aris Mardirossian
Lanny Davis
Vincent Napoleon
Sol Graham
Eric Bailey
Don Robertson
Joseph Gebhardt
Sam Statland
Carole Brand
Tina Slater
Ronald Little
Julie M. Statland
Hispanic Chamber of Commerce of Montgomery County
Hoan Dang
Vic Weissberg
Susan Heltemes
Abigail Adelman
Susie Gelman
Chuck Short
Michael Gelman
Duane L. Rollins
Lou D’Ovidio
Bill Conway
Tony Hausner
Ellsworth Naylor
Yaminah Leggett Wells
Bruce Lee
Montgomery County Chamber of Commerce
Fran Rothstein
David Magill
Aaron Kauffman
Frieda Lacey
Stewart Bainum Jr.
Herman Taylor

Dan Schere can be reached at


If MoCo360 keeps you informed, connected and inspired, circle up and join our community by becoming a member today. Your membership supports our community journalism and unlocks special benefits.