County Executive March Elrich said Saturday that he tested positive for COVID-19, but has "mild symptoms." Credit: File Photo

Montgomery County is adding six members to its County Human Rights Hall of Fame.

County Executive Marc Elrich announced his selections on Tuesday. The people were chosen for their work in contributing to human and civil rights in the county.

“The honorees will be recognized for their visionary leadership, outstanding achievements and altruism on the road to eliminating discrimination and advancing human rights,” according to a press release on Tuesday.

The honorees will be inducted during the hall’s 11th biennial event at 4 p.m. on Sunday.

The six new members will be:
● Bruce Adams: A former County Council member who established the Office of Community Partnerships, launched the county’s Sister Cities program, created an annual World of Montgomery Festival, promoted volunteer community service, reinvigorated the Charles W. Gilchrist Immigrant Resource Center, and created advisory groups for ethnic and faith communities
● Marcine D. Goodloe: The first woman to serve as the president of the county’s Fire and Rescue Association, who advanced the fire service agenda, negotiated agreements to benefit volunteers, improved key policies related to training and to drug and alcohol abuse testing, spearheaded toy drives, and coordinated events for underserved children
● Marcus Jones: The current Montgomery County police chief, who has worked on strengthening the relationship between the police and community, serves on the governor’s Prescription Drug Monitoring Program board, serves on the county’s Domestic Violence Coordinating Council, serves on the Maryland Violence Intervention and Prevention Advisory Council, and helped create the police department’s Diversity Training program
● Dr. Michael Lin: A biomedical scientist who has helped secure passage of Congressional resolutions acknowledging the injustice of the 1882 Chinese Exclusion Laws, helped found the Asian American Political Alliance, served as chair of the Maryland Governor’s Commission on Asian Pacific American Affairs, and served as member and chair of Montgomery College’s Board of Trustees
● Darryl McSwain: The Park Police chief for the county division of the Maryland-National Capital Park and Planning Commission, who previously served with the county’s police department, including commanding the Special Operations Division with the K-9 units and SWAT teams
● Jeffrey Slavin: A civil, LGBTQ and women’s rights activist who was appointed to Washington, D.C.’s Human Rights Commission, helped recruit women to serve in political offices, served on the Somerset Town Council, was elected to the Black Democrats of Montgomery County Board of Directors, a member of the Maryland Black Mayors Association, a member of the county’s chapter of the NAACP, a member of the National Council of Negro Women, and serves as vice president of the Friends of Human Rights Commission

Briana Adhikusuma can be reached at