Four County Council Members attended their last meeting on Nov. 29. They are seen in the middle, holding certificates from County Executive Marc Elrich's office. From left: Craig Rice, Nancy Navarro, Hans Riemer, Tom Hucker. Credit: Steve Bohnel

For eight years, four County Council Members have had a seat at the dais in the council chambers at the Stella Werner Council Office Building in Rockville. 

Tuesday marked the last time they joined their colleagues at that dais, as a part of the legislative branch of Montgomery County Government. With the departures of council members Tom Hucker (D-District 5), Nancy Navarro (D-District 4), Craig Rice (D-District 2) and Hans Riemer (D-At-large), the council is losing more than six decades of experience in elected office (counting all elected roles they have served in).

Numerous other former council members, council members-elect, County Executive Marc Elrich (D), and other county officials joined them for their last meeting. 

Navarro, Rice and Riemer are all term-limited, and Hucker finished sixth in the Democratic primary for an at-large council seat, where four Democrats advanced to the general election in November. Hucker was previously running for county executive but decided at the filing deadline to switch races. 

The 19th County Council’s final vote was quickly followed by a standing ovation by those in the council chamber.  A video was then shared highlighting the four members’ work and accomplishments on the council. Another ovation ensued. 

They then received a gift from other council members, who also offered praise about their work. All four departing members thanked their council colleagues and county residents for the opportunity to serve, work on multiple issues and the opportunity to make the county a better place to live.  


Elrich and former County Executive Ike Leggett then gave short remarks before certificates for each were presented. Council President Gabe Albornoz then adjourned the meeting, and council staff members shared gifts and memories about the four outgoing members. 

Elrich and the 20th County Council will be sworn in at 11 a.m. on Dec. 5, at the Strathmore Music Center in North Bethesda. Their first meeting is scheduled for Dec. 6.